I didn't "dodge the bullet" this time

lovelylola
lovelylola Member Posts: 279
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hello to all my BC sisters. I'm a newbie both with breast cancer and the electronic chatting. Ever since my mother had breast cancer and a double mastectomy over 40 years ago. She survived almost 39 years through a time when women didn't only to succumb to pancreatic cancer at age 79. Since my mid-twenties I have faithfully had a mammogram every year. Had a couple biopsies, but nothing to "write home about". Since both my mom and her mom had cancer, I have always known it was a possibility, but I kept dodging the bullet. Well, in my life's "Showdown at the OK Coral", I didn't dodge it this time.
The build up to the showdown started right after the beginning of 2009. Since I was turning 60 this year (OMG!) I decided that I wasn't going to enter that decade of my life weighing of 200 pounds. Now I had a ways to go. After losing 52 pounds, I noticed that my left breast looked a little different. Upon self-exam, it felt different too. I think I knew at that moment what it was but did all the things I should. Went to my doctor, had mammograms, ultrasounds, and finally a needle biopsy (by the way not a fun procedure). The process took almost 4 weeks between scheduling appointments and getting results back. I'm not going to "tattle" on which of those bad guys at the OK Coral got me, but the fence post wasn't big enough.
I have met with my breast surgeon and have opted for a double mastectomy based on my family history. I have surgery on Sept 10th on Oahu. I am feeling really good about my decision and my children and siblings are supporting it as well.
It is strange to think how things happen for a reason. I'm going into surgery generally healthier than I was last year. I moved in with my son and his wife 2 months ago to help save up to pay off bills (Oh, Well!) but it means I won't be living and recuperating alone.