surgery & treatment indecision

Options
BeachIt
BeachIt Member Posts: 17
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hi there, I am new to this stuff, so please bear with me. I was diagnosed with BC at the end of July 2009. I have invasive cancer and the tumor is very close to the chest wall, though it is only 1 centimeter. I had appointments with a surgeon, plastic surgeon and oncologist. I was told that if I had a lumpectomy that I would have chemo and radiation, but if I had a mastectomy I could immediately start reconstruction and would only need chemo. I went for a 2nd opinion and was told that even if I had a mastectomy I would need radiation because of the location of the tumor and reconstruction would not start until after radiation was finished. I was wondering if anyone else has been in this situation and what you did. Also, I have another appointment with the first surgeon to ask additional questions. Are there any questions any of you wished you had asked? Thanks for any help you can give me.

Comments

• susie09
    susie09 Member Posts: 2,930
    Options
    Hi
    Hi Beachlt. I want to welcome you to the site. Sorry for the reason that you are here. But, you will find amazing bc survivors here to help you. I had a lumpectomy followed by radiation treatments 6 weeks later. I am sure someone here can answer your questions. Good luck with your plastic surgeon appointment.

♠♣ Susie ♠♣
  • BeachIt
    BeachIt Member Posts: 17
    Options
    susie09 said:

Hi
    Hi Beachlt. I want to welcome you to the site. Sorry for the reason that you are here. But, you will find amazing bc survivors here to help you. I had a lumpectomy followed by radiation treatments 6 weeks later. I am sure someone here can answer your questions. Good luck with your plastic surgeon appointment.

♠♣ Susie ♠♣

Thanks for the reply and the