New to this discussion board

Janet3
Janet3 Member Posts: 59
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
I am new to this discussion board. Never been part of one before, not very tech savvy. I am not a cancer patient. My mom was diagnosed with Stage IV colon cancer 30JUNE2009. Dr said she had 'maybe 3 months to live'. She's only 61 years young. Not acceptable to my mom who is the most optimistic person I've ever had the pleasure of knowing. We received second opinion at M D Anderson In Houston. That oncologist seemed to completely discount the '3 month sentence'. She began chemo 03August2009. She has signet cell adenocarcinomatosis. Apparently rare. Wondering if anyone has any insight. What can I do as her main caregiver that would be of the most help? Having read over the board for several days before signing up, I can see that you are all very positive and ready to offer any ideas you might have. This is a completely new thing for us. No family history of cancer period. Just want to say I have such respect for all of you who are bravely fighting this battle and are willing to talk about it and share. My appreciation to you. My thoughts and prayers are with each and every one of you.
Janet

Comments

• nudgie
    nudgie Member Posts: 1,478 Member
    Welcome
    to the semi-colon's. I am sorry to hear about your mother and doctors should be **** slapped for making such life statements.

Instead of typing alot of information, I have provided some helpful links that should provide some information, but PLEASE KEEP IN MIND that some information provided on the internet can be old.

www.coloncancer.about.com
    http://coloncancer.about.com/od/typesofcancer/a/Signet_Ring.htm

National Cancer Institute
    http://www.nci.nih.gov/cancerinfo/types/colon-and-rectal/

Cancer.net
    http://www.cancer.net/

Foods
    www.cancerproject.org