New Breast Cancer Diagnsis - Opinions Appreciated

Options
sweetgeorgia
sweetgeorgia Member Posts: 10
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hello - I am new to this diagnosis and confused about my options. I too, after reviewing a lot of posts and replies, think this is a wonderful support group and look forward to getting through this with you. After a biopsy of 3 different areas on right breast, I was diagnosed with extensive DCIS in an area that is multi-foci with micro invasion. There is a 2nd biopsied spot in another quadrant that was not identified as malignant, but it is a major area of concern for the radiologist/surgeon and it has to come out. My surgeon says I am a candidate for a lumpectomy w/radiation but is concerned about my rheumatoid arthritis (RA). The radiation oncologist is not concerned about the RA, but more concerned about the 2nd area and that targeted radiation on the DCIS may not cover the 2nd area of abnormal tissue if it turns out to be malignant. I am leaning toward a simple mastectomy with reconstruction since it will provide for a much less chance of recurrence. Do others agree with that approach or does anyone think that the lumpectomy might still be a good option if I am all about breast conservation? I know it is up to me and my doctor and therefore, I am seeking support and opinions. Sincerely appreciated, Confused Sweetgeorgia :-)

Comments

• taleena
    taleena Member Posts: 1,612 Member
    Options
    Sweetgeorgia,
    First let me

Sweetgeorgia,

First let me say welcome to this site, though I am so sorry for the reason you are here... you will find a wealth of support, encouragement, information from various personal experiences, and did I say support.