What questions should I ask????

hippiecwgrl
hippiecwgrl Member Posts: 1
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
Hi My dad has colon cancer and starts his 1st round of chemo on 7/7. He has to do 12 rounds. What questions should I ask when I go with him on the 1st day? I understand the basic idea of how he does one week on & one week off the pump.I'm just not sure what else I need to know. He looks to me for the answers and it's hard when I don't have them you know... Any help or suggestions would be great!!!! I feel so lost and don't really have anyone I can ask for help.

Comments

• lizzydavis
    lizzydavis Member Posts: 893
    You came to the right place!
    Hi Hippiecwgrl,

Your Dad is lucky to have you there for support! You will find many people here who will respond to your questions. I am a newbie and have had one round of chemo.

The best things I can recommend are to:
    --Ask what is the name of the chemo & the side effects
    --Ask for nausea, pain, and anxiety meds to have at home – Ativan was the one which worked for me. I was told to take the pill as soon as I began to have slight queasiness. If I waited until I was very queasy, it would be too late. I followed their advice and it worked.
    --Take some crackers and water along with magazines to help the time pass.
    --Ask for a 24-hour call number if there is any problem at home.

The Oncology nurses are very helpful and will give you lots of information and answer any questions you have. My first treatment went fine. I did have some nausea at home and the pills helped. I did sleep and that helped also.

I baked a chicken and made a pot of spaghetti and put individual servings in the freezer so that we would have them as needed. It sure did help not having to cook or go out. Soup is great with the veggies. Also, drinking liquids helps.

I hope this info has helped some. Others will respond and there are many websites to view.