is this the end?

midnte0708
midnte0708 Member Posts: 166
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
My dad (66) has been on chemo for 3.5 years non stop since being diagnosed with stage 4 colon cancer with inoperable many many mets to liver.

Great results with FOLFIRI + Avastin for 3 years...liver tumors stable entire time with some shrinkage but recently developed new lung mets(very small) in Oct 08.

So then doctor switched to FOLFOX (no avastin) for the last 6 months. Last week scan has showed tumors in liver growing, doc sent him home and told him there are no more chemos to try and gave him pill form of F5U and told him he had 8-12 weeks to live.
Also, said maybe the pill F5U would trick the cancer "you never know" he said.

I am currently trying to get him a second opinion at Roswell but wonder how the liver tumors could have grown so fast (he gets ct scans every 3 months).
I am not a doctor but I wonder if a liver abscess could show as a tumor growing??? maybe I am wishful thinking and surely the doctor would have covered every base before telling him to get his affairs in order.

any thoughts will be appreciated. I'm still in shock, denial, etc.... The doctor did give him 1 year to live in November 2005 so he has already beat that by a lot but I still can't believe this unfolded so suddenly when he has been stable so long.
Did anyone ever have good luck with taking pill F5U only?? this seems to me like a longshot

Thanks
Sue

Comments

• dianetavegia
    dianetavegia Member Posts: 1,942 Member
    Praying for your family
    Sue, this is all new to me so I have no answers, but I'm going to pray for your father and family right now.

God keep you safe,
    Diane
  • msccolon
    msccolon Member Posts: 1,917 Member
    be strong