what is chemo brain?

nanagrandma
nanagrandma Member Posts: 40
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
Just wondering what it is and if it is side effects from chemo.

Comments

• funnyguy
    funnyguy Member Posts: 89
    Funny thing...chemo brain...
    My oncologist says it's not real...but every nurse I speak with says it's more than real and very common with breast cancer patients.

My experience during treatment was being disoriented and NO short term memory...know after treatment I find that my short term memory comes and goes but getting better with time.

It drives me nuts because I make my living with information! Now I have to write down simple stuff that I used to just remember.

I've never read anything about chemo brain that makes sense...Nurses and some general practictioners have said to me "what do you expect...You've been pumping poison into your body and brain cells tend to go with that.."
  • chynabear
    chynabear Member Posts: 481 Member
    "Chemo brain" is getting much more attention in recent years. They have actually done tests of the brain before chemo and after chemo (I believe it was in breast cancer patients, maybe more patients more recently) and have actually seen differences in the brain.

If you are interested in "chemo brain" or are having trouble with it, please read these links. I had no idea what was going on with me and was very reassured when I read.

http://www.cancer.org/docroot/NWS/content/NWS_2_1x_Seeking_Solutions_to_Chemo-Brain.asp

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/15136453/

http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2006/10/061006072544.htm

You can also google it or search on msn.
  • kristasplace
    kristasplace Member Posts: 957 Member