newbie...mom has stage 4

2mmama
2mmama Member Posts: 2
edited March 2014 in Lung Cancer #1
Hi I am new to the group.my 66 year old mom was diagnosed oct 29 with non small cell metastized to brain and maybe liver.she has been having seizures bc of the brain tumors. She is doing radiation for the brain now. They will do radiation on lung next and then chemo. How is the quality of life? What is the avg lifespan? I'm just sick! She is my best friend!!any advice is appreciated.
Christi

Comments

• Lizzytish
    Lizzytish Member Posts: 7
    Hi Christi,

I am new to this too and was diagnosed with Non-small cell lung cancer in September and had the lower portion of my right lung removed. I am 71 years old.

Has your dictor set some gaols for the outcome of these treatments? Has "cure" been mentioned or the possibility of "cure"? Don't be afraid to ask the hard questions and write them down before going in to see the doctor.

You are a wnderful daughter and your mom is very lucky to have you. I have my daughter and she has been with me to my appointments and is a second ear to make sure I hear things correctly.

You and your mom are in my prayers.

Lizzy
  • 2mmama
    2mmama Member Posts: 2
    Lizzytish said:

Hi Christi,

I am new to this too and was diagnosed with Non-small cell lung cancer in September and had the lower portion of my right lung removed. I am 71 years old.

Has your dictor set some gaols for the outcome of these treatments? Has "cure" been mentioned or the possibility of "cure"? Don't be afraid to ask the hard questions and write them down before going in to see the doctor.

You are a wnderful daughter and your mom is very lucky to have you. I have my daughter and she has been with me to my appointments and is a second ear to make sure I hear things correctly.

You and your mom are in my prayers.

Lizzy

Hi Lizzy,
    Thank you for the reply! I feel so helpless!!