Just wondering

changing
changing Member Posts: 134
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
Does anyone know,for how long the CEA continues to move after your tx's end? (Assuming your one of those ,who's CEA is a fairly good indicator).

Comments

• mwomack
    mwomack Member Posts: 78
    What do you mean move? A steady rise is cause for concern, and that is really the only experience my husband has had.

MA
  • Betsydoglover
    Betsydoglover Member Posts: 1,248 Member
    Hi -
    I am far from an expert, but it stands to reason that if CEA is a good marker, then it will go down as disease level decreases - which may be indirectly related to treatment, but not necessarily directly. So, I don't think there is a definitive answer to this question. And of course, CEA is not always a good marker, so that makes it even more iffy.

Betsy
  • changing
    mwomack said:

What do you mean move? A steady rise is cause for concern, and that is really the only experience my husband has had.

MA

So sorry to hear your hubbys' is rising:( Hope his cea is NOT a good indicator for him, therefore it won't mean much. However,I'm praying for both of you. Thanks for responding!
  • changing

Hi -
    I am far from an expert, but it stands to reason that if CEA is a good marker, then it will go down as disease level decreases - which may be indirectly related to treatment, but not necessarily directly. So, I don't think there is a definitive answer to this question. And of course, CEA is not always a good marker, so that makes it even more iffy.

Betsy

You're right Betsy, yet you know how some of us tend to get a bit anal:/ I'm one of those!
  • mwomack
    changing said:

So sorry to hear your hubbys' is rising:( Hope his cea is NOT a good indicator for him, therefore it won't mean much. However,I'm praying for both of you. Thanks for responding!

4.3 at diagnosis of Stage IIIc.