Just Venting

AnnieM939
AnnieM939 Member Posts: 38
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
Maybe these chemo treatments are making me cranky but I just feel like I have to vent today, so forgive me. Two things have really bugged me lately:

1. "You look good". Is anyone else tired of hearing that? I know people mean well but I have resorted to saying "thanks, how did I look before cancer?" Is that terrible? Again, I know people mean well but I guess I'm just chemo-cranky.

2. Survivor's Guilt - a coworker of mine asked me if I had survivor's guilt. I thought it was the right thing to say, so I said yes. When I really think about it, NO, I don't have survivor's guilt. Of course I feel for anyone who is going through any of this and I feel for their families/friends, but am I supposed to feel guilty because I am still alive? I have been battling (and battling hard) for almost 8 months now (between surgery and chemo and I am at Stage IV). On March 22, I start my 12th of 12 treatments and then Avastin maintenance. Should I feel bad that I am surviving (for now)? Am I a horrible person for feeling this way?

Sorry, took a sick day today and again, just wanted to vent. Please feel free to let me know if you think I'm a terrible person and I'll try to look at things with a new perspective.

Comments

• lorriel
    lorriel Member Posts: 4
    You have every right to feel the way you do. this stuff takes a toll on your life. Just HANG in there..
  • themis01
    themis01 Member Posts: 167
    I felt the same way with my mom. Even when she was 75 pounds people would say you look good. It is like they don't really know what to say. I am glad you do not have survivor's guilt. That is ridiculous! Keep fighting
  • Monicaemilia
    Monicaemilia Member Posts: 455 Member