Adult who Survived Hodgkins as a Child

janebuse
janebuse Member Posts: 2
Hi.
As I've looked through the conversations, I haven't seen one lately centered around surviving Hodgkins over 25 years ago. My husband was 15 years old when he was diagnosed with Hodgkins. He is now 47. He has had a heart valve replaced as well as experienced numerous other complications due to his radiation. Is there anyone who has a similar situation that I can visit with? I would appreciate it. Jane

Comments

• RNHF1986
    RNHF1986 Member Posts: 26
    Hi. I am brand new to csn. I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's in 1983 at age 19. I am 43 now and am female. I have had a basal cell skin cancer on my back, and at age 41 was diagnosed with breast cancer. They couldn't tell me if the breast cancer was caused by radiation from Hodgkin's or not. The lump was on the inside upper left breast where I had had previous radiation. I had a bilateral mastectomy + chemo. I've not had any heart problems so far, but they still look at my lungs every year or more because of something that looks interesting to them--perhaps scar tissue? I'm interested in any one who has had other complications, too.
  • Brenda2593
    Brenda2593 Member Posts: 1
    RNHF1986 said:

Hi. I am brand new to csn. I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's in 1983 at age 19. I am 43 now and am female. I have had a basal cell skin cancer on my back, and at age 41 was diagnosed with breast cancer. They couldn't tell me if the breast cancer was caused by radiation from Hodgkin's or not. The lump was on the inside upper left breast where I had had previous radiation. I had a bilateral mastectomy + chemo. I've not had any heart problems so far, but they still look at my lungs every year or more because of something that looks interesting to them--perhaps scar tissue? I'm interested in any one who has had other complications, too.