Fatigue/Nausea

Jen28
Jen28 Member Posts: 45
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
Hi to everyone on this board--I've been reading your posts for a bit and you seem like a great group. In October, I was diagnosed with sigmoid colon cancer in October, had resection surgery and the cancer was staged at IIIA (3/15 positive lymph nodes). (I'm 28, a vegetarian and in good physical shape with no family history of colon cancer, so the diagnosis was a shock to me.) I started Folfox this past Friday. The side effects weren't terrible--fatigue, nausea and some mild sensitivity to cold. The nausea and cold sensitivity are gone now, but I'm still really tired. I'm an attorney and am planning to work four day weeks through chemo (taking off the Fridays that I get chemo and the Mondays after). Does anyone have any advice or tips on dealing with (working through) fatigue?

Also, I'd like to be better prepared food-wise for my next chemo treatment on the 16th. I had a hard time finding foods that I thought would sit well with me due to the nausea. Are there any foods that you found easy to tolerate?

Thanks,
Jen

Comments

• nanuk
    nanuk Member Posts: 1,358 Member
    I found anti-acids helpful, also Ativan-(SP) for my nausea during Folfox, but it can make you drowsy. Also, Root Beer-(flat) helped. so far as the diet, it varies so much with the individual, it's difficult to say what works; I found that lighter foods, such as soups, yogurt, and fruits,plus plenty of liquids-water, fruit juice,
    gatorade, etc seemed to be tolerated better. Hydration is very important-keep water with you all the time.Ask the nurse/doctor if they have any
    diet suggestions-there is usually some expertise availble. Nanuk
  • Kanort
    Kanort Member Posts: 1,272 Member
    Hi Jen,

I am sorry for your diagnosis, but happy that you found our group.