Rituxan therapy

OncoRN
OncoRN Member Posts: 1
Hi, my name is Vicki and I am an oncology nurse. I am going to be working with Rituxan for NHL and would like to hear about your experience with this drug. How did you tolerate it? Were the side-effects manageable? What was the worst thing? Did you have a good response, etc? Anything and everything you would like to share would be greatly appreciated. I want to understand this treatment from your perspective. Please feel free to respond here or to my e-mail address: OncoRN@aol.com. Thank you so much,
Vicki

Comments

• karenv0412
    karenv0412 Member Posts: 2
    I am currently doing R-CHOP, tomorrow will be my 3rd round of treatments. My first infusion, I had side effects like a hayfever reaction, itchy throat, my sinus' were draining, watery eyes, so they slowed the drip down, and gave me a steriod. They gave me benedryl and tylenol prior to starting it. So now, they give me the ben and tyl and the steriod every time and no problems besides either sleepiness or restlessness from the benedryl. They also have me do the Rituxan the first day and CHOP the second day. Does that seems standard or okay? I go every three weeks. I will also be doing maintenance after my 6 rounds is done. Hope this helps. Karen
  • benita
    benita Member Posts: 13
    I had severe lower back pain the during the first treatment plus the nasal drainage feeling. The nurses gave me a pain medication for the lower back pain. My sister is also an oncology nurse at Vanderbilt Hospital in Nashville and she told me that many patients will get the chills with the first treatment - sort of like the flu.
  • speedygo
    speedygo Member Posts: 7
    I had rituxin therapy 5 times for my non hodgkins follicular cancer. The first time it gave me the chills, after that it made me nervous so they gave me a relaxant and it was fine, I slept through it until it was done.
  • binks
    binks Member Posts: 2