stage 11

grandma713
grandma713 Member Posts: 105
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
I am new to this chat room but I would love to hear about your experiences with colon cancer. I was diagnosed last October. I had Stage 1/11. No lymph node involvement and the surgical margins were clear. The doctors did not recommend chemo at this time and so far I am feeling great. I go and have CEA tests every 3 months. The levels were low before the surgery but dropped even lower at my first 3 month checkup. I am back to my full schedule now and overall I feel great. What I would like to know is what I should do now to improve my chances of NOT having a recurrence. I have been told a recurrence usually occurs in the liver. I just want to do all I can to prevent this from happening to me again. I have changed my diet to eating much less red meat, trying to exercise more and taking vitamin supplements. I just dont have anyone to talk to about colon cancer. Thanks in advance everyone.

Comments

• spongebob
    spongebob Member Posts: 2,565 Member
    Well, Grandma, you came to the right place to meet people to talk to about cancer!

We're cancer-talkin' fools (I mean that "fool" part quite figuratively) and always ready to chat with another semi-colon!

Congrats on your incredible success - you're going to be an inspiration to many folks who visit this site and need to hear some success stories to help ease their fears.

Welcome!

- SpongeBob
  • kangatoo
    kangatoo Member Posts: 2,105 Member
    spongebob said:

Well, Grandma, you came to the right place to meet people to talk to about cancer!

We're cancer-talkin' fools (I mean that "fool" part quite figuratively) and always ready to chat with another semi-colon!

Congrats on your incredible success - you're going to be an inspiration to many folks who visit this site and need to hear some success stories to help ease their fears.

Welcome!

- SpongeBob

Hiya Grandma--welcome to the group.Welcome from "down under".