Stage IV Treatment

beaud
beaud Member Posts: 7
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
I am new to the cancer survivors network. My wife was diagnosed last month with stage 4-colon cancer that has spread to her liver. She went for her first chemotherapy. She received aloxi for anti nausea and decadron, which is a steroid. Then oxalitlatan and laucovoran. And, I believe she got a 5fu injection. Then, she is hooked up to a pump, which they call Full Fox (6). I believe she also received a procrit injection for anemia.

Anyone who would be willing to e-mail support with us as well as anyone who would respond to this posting would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• shmurciakova
    shmurciakova Member Posts: 906 Member
    Hello and welcome! I know all of this seems really awful, but you will be surprised how quickly she rebounds after the chemo is overwith. The nurses will play around w/ the correct combo of anti-nausea meds and the amount of decadron until she has a relatively comfortable experience. How long is she supposed to remain on the chemo? Were the mets to the liver inoperable? Please give more details......
    Hang in there! -Susan
  • StacyGleaso
    StacyGleaso Member Posts: 1,233 Member
    Hi beaud!

Sorry to "meet" under such circumstances, but you've certainly come to the right place! Tell your wife to keep up her excellent attitude and she'll be just fine. I, too, was stage 4, and today, all clear. Lost 40% of my liver in the battle, but no biggie. I was fortunate to not have any chemo side effects, not sure why, but hopefully hers won't be too severe, if at all. Drink plenty of water prior and after chemo...it will help big time!

Please take care of yourself, too! Keep us posted on her PROGRESS!!!!!!!!

Stacy
  • jsabol
    jsabol Member Posts: 1,145 Member
    Hi Beau,