scheduled to start chemo, totally confused

rwkeach
rwkeach Member Posts: 17
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
Hi, I'm new to this, so bear with me.
Got diagnosed on 1-30-04, had surgery on 2-6-04 and am scheduled to start chemo on 2-25-04. At least I have an appointment with the oncologist on that date. People tell me it's too early to start chemo, of course i don't know what to expect. I would like to hear from some of you that can tell me what questions to ask etc. Do I need somebody to go with me or am I ok going by myself (my husband is an OTR driver and will be gone for most of the time). I read some of the emails and it wasn't at all what I expected. I thought everybody would be whining about the raw deal they got, instead I'm reading some incredible stories of courage and also some wonderful nonsense. If anybody out there has any advice for me, I would certainly appreciate it.
Thanks

Comments

• jsabol
    jsabol Member Posts: 1,145 Member
    Hi R,
    I'm sure this is the first of many responses you will get. I just read that getting the CANCER diagnosis is the hardest part of this; in some ways it seems true. I was diagnosed in Nov. 03, surgery Dec 03 (colectomy with 1 microscopically positive node, which had't shown on CT scan, nor did surgeon see it with naked eye). I started chemo 4 weeks later; my onc said usual is 3 to 7 weeks post op depending on healing, general health, etc.
    Your appt with the onc will prob be a planning time; I took my husband and a notebook and wrote down the important stuff, as well writing down any questions I wanted answers to. I'm not sure what type of chemo you will need, but with 5FU and leucovorin, I am able to usually drive myself there and only had 1 episode of not being able to get home easily....BAD cramps and diarrhea.