MRI with or without contrast

fjubier
fjubier Member Posts: 24 Member

Hi,

I am already one year in active surveillance but I have decide to treat this year with focal therapy.

Before starting the treatment, I had an MRI done yesterday but it was without contrast.

Should I request another one with contrast before starting a treatment?

Thanks,

Fred

Comments

• frank1956
    frank1956 Member Posts: 19 Member

I am a layman, but I just watched this video. The doctor giving the answers is from UCLA.

This is more than 2 hours long. At around 1:27:45, the specific question is being asked:

To use contrast or not to use contrast, that is the question. Watch it to see what the doctor said.

• fjubier

Thanks for sharing this video. This was very useful.

• Clevelandguy
    Clevelandguy Member Posts: 1,148 Member

Hi,

If it was me I would go with the contrast for better definition. From what I have read if you have kidney disease or are allergic to the contrast medium then don’t go with it.

Dave 3+4

• fjubier

The video says this is 90% of the time they detect all tumors without contrast but I rather ask to reddo the MRI with contrast to cover all the ground. Since I am going for Focal treatment you better know the minefield…I think if you are going for all gland treatment then this is not really important. But I think the focal therapy is relying a lot on good imaging to get the job done if you go for hemi ablation of the gland.

• swl1956
    swl1956 Member Posts: 121 Member