15 Years Post RP Detectable PSA

airborne72
airborne72 Member Posts: 302 Member
edited May 14 in Prostate Cancer #1

Submitted to a radical prostectomy in June 2009 after an initial PSA of 16.9 and a confirming biopsy. Total time lapse from detection to removal was less than 120 days. My PSA screening occurred regularly for several years post surgery and each result was undetectable - until now.

I'm an older veteran and have recently submitted a disability claim with the VA for Prostate Cancer as it is now covered by the 2022 Pact Act. Part of the VA claims process has included a blood test for PSA which was conducted on 4 Apr 24. The result was 0.04. The VA has subsequently ordered another blood test for PSA (conducted yesterday).

Am I being paranoid or should I be concerned? I put PC behind me during the summer of 2009 and have since dealt with short term incontinence but long term (permanent) impotence. The cancer became a bad memory, not a present issue. So I am now anxiously waiting the results from my second blood test. An anxiety that I haven't processed in over a decade.

Jim

Comments

• centralPA
    centralPA Member Posts: 321 Member

Prior to the VA PSA test, when was your last one? How many years?

• Clevelandguy
    Clevelandguy Member Posts: 1,148 Member
    edited May 14 #3

Hi,

I had my Prostate removed in 2014 and my PSA has been less than .1 ever since(undectable). My doctor switched me over to a super sensitive test my last two readings were .05. Your test showed a .04, if it was me I would be happy. In my humble non medical opinion don't worry about the .04. but if your readings continue to increase over several readings, approaching .1+, then investigate it.

Dave 3+4

• Old Salt
    Old Salt Member Posts: 1,467 Member

Yes, as the others have written, follow up with regular PSA tests to see if something is going on. Be sure to use the same facility and test.

• airborne72