Scared of lung surgery🥺

Options
Arabella13
Arabella13 Member Posts: 4 Member
edited November 2023 in Lung Cancer #1

Hey guy I’m 22 years old and have been battling cancer from 2 years now.It was at my back but now it moved to my lungs.I recently just finished 6 rounds of chemo and unfortunately the biggest tumor increased in size so I have to undergo surgery.The doctors have assured me that everything will be fine and the my lungs will work just as normal when I recover but I’m scared. To all those who have had a reasonable or even small part of your lungs removed, how is life after surgery? and any advice ? Thank you

Comments

• loveall2
    loveall2 Member Posts: 1 Member
    Options

Hi Arabella. I have been battling Lung ca since 2015, I am 68 yrs old, The first one was upper RT Lobe, all of that was removed, next year LT Lung resection, 1 yr later another tumor popped up mid chest,,Had radiation for that one, 1.5 yrs later another lung tumor left lung area, 6 months ago had radiation again for another tumor in lung close to esophagus, so take courage, u are very young and can beat this...My lungs have served me well after all of this, a little sob with steps but all in all managing my life well. Hope this helps. Good Luck.

• Sharon5922
    Sharon5922 Member Posts: 20 Member
    Options

Hello. I'm sorry you are going through lung surgery. There are several ways to do this surgery, which includes a wedge resection to a total removal of the lobe containing the cancerous growth. Long story short, I had a lobectomy of the upper right lobe of my lung in December. (Total lobectomy is recommended for primary lung tumor, can't say if this is relevant to your specifics.) This type of surgery is definitely scary but there are procedures in place to control pain and typically you will have a team to monitor you pre- and post surgery.