just diagnosed - what can i expect? Follicular Lynmphoma

Options

Follicular Lymphoma grade 3A/Stage 3

had cyst removed from scalp - found the cancer, cat scan from Jan 14th 2022 revealed spread throughout lymph nodes.

looks like we will start with CHOP chemo then radiation - but i have no start date or exact meds to be used...

would be be wise to cancel the trip to Germany next month and possible spring break in April - assuming I am staring Chemo very soon?

thanks any any and all comments or question - i am new to this and very scared.

Comments

• Hilde
    Hilde Member Posts: 2 Member
    Options

Hello Gene,

after my diagnosis : same as yours, in June 2018 after CAT scan, lots more tests, I started chemo in September 2018, 2 days every month for 6 treatments. Good tolerance and reaction (everyone is different).

I would have been able to travel in between treatments. If that helps your mental condition and doctors don't discourage you, Do It.

I am in survivor mode and hope to be comfortable for a long time, well-no spring chicken at 77.

Pluck up your courage, have a good trip!

Hildegard

• genejohnson11
    genejohnson11 Member Posts: 6 Member
    Options

Thanks Hildegard, so they didn't start any treatment right away...interesting. so its not a big time sensitive rush to start the treatments then. i just turned 60 and just wanna make sure i make it to 77....

thanks for input!

Gene

• PBL
    PBL Member Posts: 366 Member
    Options

Hi Gene,

I was diagnosed with stage 4 Follicular Lymphoma in late 2015/early 2016 and had 6 R-CHOP21 (i.e. infusion every three weeks) in the first semester of 2016. As Hildegard said above, there is generally no hurry starting chemotherapy for asymptomatic or paucisymptomatic Follicular Lymphoma.