Prostate removed -gleason 9- mestastasized to bone- to begin radiation

swiet3
swiet3 Member Posts: 6
edited April 2021 in Prostate Cancer #1

Hello,

My husband has had his prostate removed but upon the 7 week blood test it had mestastasized to 2 locations in the bone.  He has been diagnosed with an agressive form of prostate cancer and has been placed on the generic of Zytiga, is taking hormone shots & is to begin radiation for the 2 locations in the bone next week.  He has lost hope and belives he only has a 30% chance of living for another 5 years as he saw this on the American Cancer Society site.  he is only 61.  I am hoping to get some informatio from anyone who has been through this and can give us more information.  What to expect, Hope, Successes, Treatments ect.   I am new to this discussion board thing.  I have suffered losses due to cancer throughout the years (mother -breast cancer, cousin - stomach cancer).  My jusband and I have been married for 33 years and I am lost.  I am trying to be positive and strong for him but thinking beyond the daily is too difficult and overwhelming.  I would appreciate any assistance you can provide.  Thank you.   

Comments

• CMO2021
    CMO2021 Member Posts: 53 Member
    edited April 2021 #2
    Hi Swiet3,

Hi Swiet3,