6 week checkup wasn't good.

tkbbn
tkbbn Member Posts: 4

I would like to thank everyone for their time and all the information that they give here first of all. I have obtained a lot of information from reading this forum and it is greatly appreciated, This is my first time asking a question about my own prostate cancer adventure. In summary. Diagnosed with PC early summer, 12 samples taken and 4 were cancer, gleason scores of 6,6,6 and 8. Bone scan and cat scan were performed. Both were clear at this time. Radical prostectomy was performed on 8/28 after mri was performed. Initial psa was 5.7 at start of diagnosis to cancer also.  At 6 week checkup Psa was still 0 which was great news .  23 lymph nodes were removed and all were clear for cancer also. Pathology report was not good as it had 4 tumors of cancer. #1 is 3+4, #2 is 4+5, #3 is 3+4, #4 is 3+4.  # 1,3 and 4 are contained to the prostate. #2 exhibits extraprostatic extension of 4mm and extends to the margin of resection Extent of marginal involement is less than 1mm. Seminole vessels and segments of the vasa deferentia are grossly free of tumor. Pathoologic stage classification is (pTNM, AJCC 8th Edition) I am scheduled for a psa recheck in early Jan. Should i wait this long or start alternative treatment even though no cancer is showing on my PSA test? Not sure what my next step should be going forward. I do go to MD Anderson in Houston so I feel that mu care team is very good. I did not understand at the time what all this meant and am now starting to understand what it means and of course its concerning. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thank You, Tony

Comments

• eonore
    eonore Member Posts: 178 Member
    6 week checkup

Hi Tony,