Flying Post NHL Treatment

Hello,

I‘m a newbie here but and I can’t seem to get any discernible answers from my medical team.

I completed DA EPOCH-R chemo in 2016 but continue to be monitored with PET scans, bloodwork, etc...I handled the treatment well, but now feel like I’m battling fatigue like I’ve never had in my life. It is so frustrating!

Often times I need to travel and by the time I get home, I’m down for about 2 days. I‘m a business owner and this is not acceptable to me, yet I also feel powerless over it. Just recently I flew from Boston to Minneapolis for a meeting, then to Salt Lake, then to Lake Tahoe for a 4 day meeting, then to Phoenix, then back to Boston. I arrived home on a Wednesday and was out for the count both Thursday and Friday.  This had never happened to me pre-cancer.

I can‘t seem to find much regarding flying a couple of years after treatment, so I don’t know if this is normal or if something else is going on. Oh, during my treatment I DID have a PE in my right lung, so I try to fly business class or first class when I can because being squashed in a cattle car doesn’t work for me...add to the fact that about a year ago I tore my left ACL, had surgery, and it only adds to my discomfort.

Has anyone else experienced this? 

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated, thank you!

Comments

• PBL
    PBL Member Posts: 366 Member
    Cost of living...

Hello Horses and Hounds,

...and, first things first, congratulations on achieving remission. I had 6 R-CHOP in 2016, followed by two years of Rituximab maintenance, and like you, am still being monitored twice a year with CT-scans and MRIs. In my experience, you will not likely get any precise answers regarding the duration or degree of fatigue following treatment. My hematologist just answered my question (last April) regarding this issue with a shrug and "it can go on for years". 

All I can tell you is that I would not be able to do all the traveling you are doing...