Folfox - not sure what to expect

Hello Everyone, as I've stated, I am new to this process.  I will be starting the treatments on Tuesday and as of yet I have not received any teaching so I really don't know what to expect.  I was told that I will have to have twelve treatments of Folfox and these treatments will include a five hour session and I will have the pump.  I don't know what to eat, I'm not sure how this Folfox will affect me so, any information will be helpful.  

Comments

• Trubrit
    Trubrit Member Posts: 5,796 Member
    Welcome, John

Oh how I remember those bewildering feelings at the very beginning. And I had the talk with one of the chemo nurses, it still didn't eliviate the fears or the plain not knowing what to expect. 

Have you had a port inserted in your chest?  They really are wondreful little things - most work like a dream, and save your veins from allot of harsh chemicals. 

I can only share info on how I was treated, but it will probblay be close if not the same. When you arrive at the chemo center, you will be ushered back to either the chemo room or exam room to get your port accessed - or vein, if you don't have a port.  If you do have a port, rubbing the area with Lidocaine gel about half an hour before access, really helps. It's a big needle, so don't look, becasue it looks worse than it feels. 

The chemo nurses are wondreful, and they will hook you up to various bags of chemicals. They will monitor your closley through the whole infusion. If you have any weird sensations, just call on one of those nurses and they can tell you what is happening.  On my first infusion, I had this weird tingling sensation in my throat, which turned out to be quite normal, but was totally scary becasue nobody told me about it. 

Be sure and report any tingling in fingers and hands. Some people have immediate reactions.