3.5 weeks post partial nephrectomy

Shelmel
Shelmel Member Posts: 3

Hello everyone. Newbie here.

I had a partial robotic nephrectomy 3.5 weeks ago to remove 2.5 cm mass in right kidney.  It was Stage One RCC.  They said they got it all and the next follow up is in three months for renal function study and scans every six months.  I feel okay.  Started going back to work part time, full time next week.  I had some kidney pain, flank pain a couple of days ago and called the on call MD.  He told me what signs to watch for to go to ER.  I have been pain free since.  I guess it takes weeks to feel "back to normal".  I guess I keep wondering "how did I get kidney cancer", but the answer is undoubtedly, endless.  Who knows? 

They told me reocurrence rate was 1%.  I am still nervous.  I have a nodule on my left lung that has to be watched in future, per CT scan, and worry about some enlarged lymph nodes in abdomen that are being watched over time on CTs.  That is how they found my kidney cancer, by doing CTs to watch the lymph nodes in chest and abdomen that so far "favor benign process".  I have had horrible inflammation issues.

What kinds of lifestyle changes have you all made since dealing with your diagnosis.  I am trying to eat better and be fit.  I have lost 15 pounds since my diagnosis but am still overweight.  My appetite is not so good lately.  Are there things you do to try to keep kidneys healthy or things you don't take or injest?  I am trying to work on drinking a lot of water and not taking a lot of Naproxen, among other things.

Any insights or advice you all can share is appreciated. 

I am reading though everyones' posts and learning a lot.  Thanks.

Comments

• icemantoo
    icemantoo Member Posts: 3,361 Member
    edited June 2019 #2
    Enjoy Life

Shelmel,