My struggle to save my marriage

D.Moore
D.Moore Member Posts: 1 Member

I am a 38 year old father of three and the husband of a stage four breast cancer survivor.  I am also a Naval Officer with 19 years of service as a Family Nurse Practitioner and Critical Care Nurse.   My wife and I have been together since we were 14 years old and we have been married since 2001. We have made it through 4 combat deployments and have moved our family 6 times over the last 18 years.  But the hardest thing that we have done together was fighting cancer and dealing with the calamities of life after cancer treatment.  

We got the diagnosis in 2015, the week I returned from my last six month deployment.  Please do not take offence when I use the term “We” because my wife and I are a team.  We both came from broken dysfunctional families and have relied on each other for all of our adult lives.  It has been me and her through thick and thin.   

Over the last decade I have spent years in the thick of combat medicine and have seen the product of true evil, but none of my experiences prepared me for the words “Sir, your wife has stage four metastatic invasive ductile carcinoma”.  I have always been a nerd when it comes to academia and I wish I could afford to be a Van Wilder and stay in college learning but at that moment I wished I didn’t know what all of my medical training had taught me.  My wife and I talked with our doctors and surgeons and developed our plan to save her life.  We spent the next year year kicking cancers butt.