removing colon tumor before chemo or after

Badger3
Badger3 Member Posts: 4

My husband was diagnosed with colorectal cancer and liver mets in October last year. He  received

Folfox for 6 rounds and then folfox, oxi and avastin for 6 rounds. At first his pain was severe but he had a pain

block done and was great for 3 months. Last week he had a ct scan and the liver is doing well but the

colon tumor has started growing again. The oncologist changed his chemo to Folfiri and irinotecan.

Even though he is on morphine he is in extreme pain all the time and does not feel like eating.

I have read on here so many times that the Colon is removed fairly quickly after the tumor is discovered.

Just wondering why they may take the tumor out on some but have other people wait? This is all

very new to us and we are loosing hope.

Comments

• SandiaBuddy
    SandiaBuddy Member Posts: 1,381 Member
    Hope/advocacy

I have no direct experience with your specific situation, but I can say that if you are not getting satisfactory answers from your doctor, you should pin him or her down and get those answers, or you should consider a different doctor.  I have found that to get good health care it is essential to be your own advocate.  Hopefully members with "neoadjuvant" experience can comment more on your specific question.

• 8colon8
    8colon8 Member Posts: 40 Member
    My wife's tumor in the colon

My wife's tumor in the colon was removed as soon as the colonoscopy came back as possible cancerous.  It was to prevent further spreading. Chemo followed.  You should pin down your oncologist on this.  I have learned that you need to push for answer and don't feel like an inconvenient to the medical staff. You are paying them to give you answers. Good luck. 

• Woodytele
    Woodytele Member Posts: 163
    Shrink