Emotionally draining day at work.

kutzi17
kutzi17 Member Posts: 17

A little back ground, I was diagnosed with RCC middle of May this year, had a partial lap nephrectomy April. I am an ER nurse. I went back to work 4 weeks ago and was put on light duty. Yesterday was my first day having my own patients again. My first patient came in shortly after 0700 and it was a cardiac arrest. A young men. We didn't know much about the patient as the patient was already unresponsive when the EMS got to his house. We took off his shirt and I immediately noticed his abdominal scar, same as mine. As we were working on him, his wife arrived. The patient was a kidney cancer patient who had a partial nephrectomy one week after I had mine. We were the same age. He had a DVT post surgery but was treated and was fine. He was doing well until the day before when he started to have abdominal pain. I was speechless and became immobile. I became numb. I was afraid, very afraid. I am looking at a man, same age as me, same situation, only I'm standing next to him helping to revive him. It could have been me. The first hour of my 12 hour shift drained me, it drained me mentally and emotionally. I'm used to seeing patient expire and all but this one was too close to home. I had to be assisted outside the resuscitation room. I try not to think about it but it is just too much. The fact that I started to do CPR on him upon arrival didn't help me at all, as I immediately started to feel pain on the side of my surgery. That pain lasted all day long. Sorry if the story bores you, I just needed to vent it out.

Comments

• icemantoo
    icemantoo Member Posts: 3,361 Member
    In 10 years

kutzi,

----when the shock wears off, you can joke about this.

Hopefully much sooner.

icemantoo

• paintergrl
    paintergrl Member Posts: 47
    That is really scary!

That sounds very traumatic! I'm so sorry that happened. I can see why you reacted the way you did. 

• Retcenturion