Just diagnosed

jhart2018
jhart2018 Member Posts: 12

Hello, 

I just had a colonoscopy yesterday and was told I have rectal caner. They found a 8cm mass, but said they found it early. I have a follow up visit scheudled for next Tuesday to go over the biopsy and treatment options. Obvioulsy my mind is going crazy and I cant stop doing research online about treatment and outcomes, but I found this site and figured I would join for support and info. 

Comments

• airborne72
    airborne72 Member Posts: 296 Member
    Welcome

Almost to the day one year ago I was where you are now.  Your mind is spinning and you can't get enough information fast enough.  I used to say that I earned a PhD in rectal cancer by reading everything Google could find.

I recommend that you devote most of your research time to reading the posts on this forum.  We are real people, without any hidden agenda's, who have and/or had CRC.  The information on this forum is true and blunt.

You will also discover new friends on this forum - people that you will most likely never meet, but people who will positively affect your life.  You are not alone in your journey.

Jim

• danker
    danker Member Posts: 1,276 Member
    Jhart

Since I will be 86 in 10 days. I asssume you are much younger than me.  I have been NED (no  evedence of disease) ever  since I went through various procedures in 2010.  If I can beat it at my age i'm sure you can also.  It may be a bumpy ride, but it is doable.  Just take it a day at a time, believing you too will be NED one of these days.  Good Luck!

• JanJan63
    JanJan63 Member Posts: 2,478 Member
    Stay with this site and don't