26 years old facing nephrectomy

Hello, I am new to both major surgeries and blogs. On April 19 I was told I have a 3.7cm tumor on my right kidney. The initial urologist recommended a robotic partial nephrectomy. I am set for surgery on May 7. I went in for a second opinion as I am still in disbelief. The second urologist/oncologist stated the tumor has a tongue and appears to be very close to the sinus of my kidney. The second urologist does not think performing the procedure robotically is wise, due to leaving cancerous cells behind. Instead, he recommended a total nephrectomy (if the tumor has reached the sinus). I feel like the total nephrectomy is the best option. I am concerned with the recovery and the non-robotic nephrectomy. I never thought I would be faced with a situation like this at my age.

Comments

• icemantoo
    icemantoo Member Posts: 3,361 Member
    Two pieces of good news.

I bet you didn't   expect to hear that. The 2 pieces of good news are 1 that your suspected tumor is relatively small which makes your long term prognosis excellent. The 2nd is that because you are so young your recovery should be much easier than most of ours were.

Your other question about which surgical recommendation to follow is above my paygrade and something you may want to discus with your internest.

Heres to an uneventful and sucessful surgery and recovery.

And to close we all felt bewildered and confused in the begining.

icemantoo

• Devastated Wife
    Devastated Wife Member Posts: 52 Member
    I'm not a medical person, but I agree with the total nephrectomy

I'm not a medical person, but I agree with the total nephrectomy over the partial.

My husband had the total nephrectomy (his tumor ended up being 5 cm) and I was very pleased with his recovery.

He actually wanted to play golf at 4 weeks out from surgery.

The first 2 weeks after surgery will be the worst but then it gets better from there.

• Glidergal365
    Glidergal365 Member Posts: 93