Lots of Blood

Ugur
Ugur Member Posts: 62

Hi everyone,

I want to ask your opinion about something unpleasant. 

I am having the second chemo, my regimen is Folfox, and they are giving also Avastin in this round. I'm staying at hospital since the chemo takes more than 48 hours.

As you know these drugs worsen the diarrhea, and I went for toilet before falling asleep last night. It felt like a normal diarrhea session, but after when I saw what I did was horrible. There was lots of blood, and everywhere. 
Today morning, first toilet was looking normal, but second time, it was almost the same, blood and bloody things.

Do you have any similar experience? Do you have any idea why this happens? 

Looking forward to hearing from you all.

Ugur

Comments

• lp1964
    lp1964 Member Posts: 1,239 Member
    Dear Friend,

I’m not a doctor, but most likely your bloody diarrhea has something to do with the Avastin. Avastin prohibits the cancer cell to stimulate their own blood vessel formation therefore cuts the blood supply to the cancer and May clause colon perforation.

Make sure you report it immediately to your doctor. 

• Ugur
    lp1964 said:

Dear Friend,

I’m not a doctor, but most likely your bloody diarrhea has something to do with the Avastin. Avastin prohibits the cancer cell to stimulate their own blood vessel formation therefore cuts the blood supply to the cancer and May clause colon perforation.

Make sure you report it immediately to your doctor. 

Hi LP

I'm already at hospital since yesterday luckily and the doctors are aware of the situation. 

As the doctors said, we have three options:
    1. They will give some pills to stop bleeding

2. If the pills won't work, I'll get a CT and they will close the vein which causes the bleeding

3. If they see necessary, I may get surgery to remove the main tumor. 

I also think that this is relevant with Avastin, that's why wanted to see anyone had similar experience. 

• Trubrit