The "gift" that keeps on giving

jjaj133
jjaj133 Member Posts: 867 Member
edited September 2017 in Colorectal Cancer #1

Hello All, I havent been on in years. It got too hard, so many friends losing the battle. Glad to see names from when I joined in 2011.

I have had more surgeries, my cancer seems to want to come and go at will. origninally had colon resect. 5 years later liver resect, a year later liver resect. then 5 years it showed in liver and diaphragm. This was Sept.2017, surgery successful. then a 6 month ct scan showed it was back in the adreanal gland. I had surgery Aug 3, 2017 and am now recuperating Since the beast is rearing its ugly head more frequently i am going on maintenace chemo. Starting oct. 4 i will get avastin, and xeloda. 4 pills in the am and 4 in the pm. (2000)I had xeloda before and had awful hand and foot syndrome, so not happy about this. I am very lucky in that i have been battling this since 2004, I've   have had many wonderful years.I plan on having many more.I get the idea of maintenance, I've had so many surgerys I think I've reached my limit. Now, My question is for those of you on maintenance, I feel like I am going to spend the rest of my life tied to the hospital. I live in Florida, but have family in PA. So I visit often. Do you plan your vactions around infusion appts? Petty stuff to be concerned over, just a bit shocked at the sudden reocurrance. How did the avastin and xeloda make you feel? Its been too long for me to remember> btw, I am 72 and still very active. So to everyone out there, Ive been stage 4 for15 years. aiming for 20!

Comments

• jajmom
    jajmom Member Posts: 33 Member
    You are an inspiration

Hello jjaj133,

I do not have any advice for you regarding maintenance chemo, but I wanted to address your post.