Can't breathe, just cry

SuzJ
SuzJ Member Posts: 446 Member

VCU Massey has a patient portal, where appts, and results are posted.

I had a CT scan last friday, and I was waiting for the results to post.

It says that - FINDINGS: The left tongue base enhancing mass has decreased in size and now measures about 8 x 13 mm. Enlarged metastatic nodes in levels 2 and 3 on the left have also decreased in size.

So it's not gone, I have no idea what this means? chemo/rad again? Surgery? They SAID it was GONE! Dammit!

Comments

• Engelsa
    Engelsa Member Posts: 50
    edited July 2017 #2
    Let's wait to see what the doctor has to say about all of this

SuzJ

I am so sorry this test has caused you worry.

I am by no means a doctor but I would like to share some info we received at the beginning of my husbands treatment.

We were told that the tumor doesn't always disappear. Sometimes there are residual portions that remain after treatment. They explained it as scar tissue and stated that it can continue to change over time.

I do not think the tumor presence is proof of treatment success or failure. I believe other tests must be combined to make final determination.

When will you see your oncologist again for a follow-up appointment? I think you need to speak with them sooner rather than later.

You have been through so much with this treatment already. I hate to see you worry before we know what the doctors think about these findings.

I send you a big hug, Suz.

Sara

• soonermom
    soonermom Member Posts: 155
    Don't Panic