New caregiver need advise

Options
irishlass258
irishlass258 Member Posts: 16
edited December 2015 in Head and Neck Cancer #1

Hello to all, I am new to this entire process. My husband was just diagnosed with  2.5cm mass on base of tongue. He also has a spot on lung found by accident when is CT scan was done. The surgeon said no surgery because it is too large. We meet with the radiologist on Tuesday. What questions should we ask about his situation so we are informed about it and to help in planning a treatment plan?

Thanks for any help you can give. 

Comments

• Barbaraek
    Barbaraek Member Posts: 626
    Options
    Welcome

Irishlass. You have found a good place to be...even though you are in a tough situation. Here you will find a place for support, information and encouragement. One thing you might want to do is read the superthread at the beginning of the messages. After that you can search for answers to more specific questions by typing key words under "search CSN content".

Take a deep breath and see what the treatment options are. Is surgery out completely or will they try and shrink the tumor and then reassess? How much radiation? Will there be any concurrent chemotherapy? Is the spot on the lung metastasized from the SCC? I guess those are the questions I would start with. You will also want to know how the tumor is "staged" because that helps determine treatment options.

I would advise you to ask questions here and make a list for your health provider team. Don't "google" too much because you can read sketchy information and get depressed pretty quickly. That is not what you need right now. Stick to sites like the American Cancer Society, National Cancer Institutes and NCCN.

This is a treatable disease, but it is a rough rough ride. As a caregiver don't forget to take care of yourself also so you can be the best help possible to your husband.

We'll keep you in our prayers...

Barbara 

• wmc
    wmc Member Posts: 1,804
    Options