Recurrent NPC neck/jaw/tongue problems

Options
OFD272
OFD272 Member Posts: 5

So a brief overview of my story is that i've been battling with NPC since 2011.  I was diagnosed when I was 20, and have been fighting it ever since.  I have periods of remission, and then recurrences.  I am in my second clinical trial, and have been through about 4 different types of chemo and many radiation sessions.  My question to the community is this: I know that neropathy of the feet and hands is a common side effect of chemo, but Im wondering if anyone else has had neck stiffness, and cramps throughout the neck and jaw.  I've been experiencing numbness and cramping of my tounge as well.  It makes speaking difficult, and sometimes I can't talk clearly at all.  Just looking for feedback, and to see if anyone else has experienced anything similar to this, and how they delt with it if they have. 

Thanks.

Comments

• hwt
    hwt Member Posts: 2,328 Member
    Options
    Sorry to hear

My cancer was SCC of mandible so different. I have also had recurrences but am much older than you. I get some tingling in hands but not in my feet. Half of my tongue gets numb sometimes worse than other times. I haven't found a resolution. Early on, I had therapy and with some stretch exercises really loosened up my neck stiffness. My jaw generally hurts or is uncomfortable, I take hydrocodone to ease it. I do encourage you to ask for therapy to loosen your neck, it can work. 

• MGC
    MGC Member Posts: 72 Member
    Options
    hwt said:

Sorry to hear