Newbie Here, start chemo today.

Hello all :) I just found this place last night and start chemo today. Background, I am a 39 year old (soon to be 40) post surgical nurse at a fairly busy hospital who dug in her heels for a week with shortness of breath thinking I had diagnosed myself. My diagnosis was a pulmonary embolus...how wrong I was! Initially they treated me for anxiety in the ER, breathing treatment and IM Ativan neither helped. A chest xray followed and right after that a chest CT, my xray showed a widened mediastinum and the ct showed the mass. A 10-12cm mass wrapping itself around my trachea, no wonder I couldnt breathe! I was sent by EMS to my hospital, thankfully (other hospital was over an hour away), due to my pulse sustaining the 130's once there I got to the ER, met by staff that  I knew from transfers within the hospital and because we are all one big family, definitely a perk being an employee. I was transferred to the heart floor primarily due to no beds anywhere else and was told the surgeon would meet with me in the a.m., I told my mom to be back at the hospital at 6:30 because I knew these docs rounded early. He did and at that time he told me he was working me in so that he could get the biopsy ASAP. I found out later that he called his APRN the night of the transfer and told her, "we have one of our own and I want to work her in tomorrow morning" he did :) 

My surgery went well, though due to lack of sleep I couldnt stop crying, that is better now but I still have bouts of tears. I stayed in the hospital because my pulse was still kind of high and breathing was difficult, they wanted to keep me on a high dose of Solu-Medrol in hopes of shrinking the tumor some. While there, on Saturday we got the official dianosis, Hodgkin's Lymhoma. Once I heard I immediately started getting my team in place, I wanted my port and bone marrow biopsy done before I left and Monday under general anesthesia I had both.