Nasal prosthesis help following rhinectomy

Options
KC27
KC27 Member Posts: 5
edited July 2014 in Head and Neck Cancer #1

Hi,

I'm new to this network having stumbled across it while searching for information about a nasal prosthesis.

My beau, who is 73, was diagonosed with squamous cell carcinoma in his nasal cavity several years ago and before I came into his life. He had his septum removed and was told all was well. Less than a year into our relationship, his nose bleeds returned. He opted for radiation (40 doses) in 2012 but that was not successful. Finally, he had a complete rhinectomy in November 2013. His surgeon thought he would have to remove his front four teeth but he didn't -- and we're very grateful for that.

Due to the radiation, it took a long time for the wound to heal. At last, he received his nasal prosthesis. And due to the radiation, we were told he couldn't have implants to attach it. Therefore, the only way to attach the prosthesis is with glue. The problem is he is having trouble keeping it on unless he's wearing glasses. He's using Daro Adhesive Thirty Three. The doctor who made the prosthesis is out of the country and when he returns, may have my beau switch to a stronger glue but the doc doesn't want to do it just yet because my beau has very sensitive skin.

My question is, does anyone have experience with applying a prosthesis with glue. What kind of glue have you found to be successful? Any tips? We live in San Francisco, where the weather is often cool. However, my beau is finding out that he can't wear the prosthesis while working out because of the sweat. He's soooooo tired of wearing a gauge bandage over his nose and having everybody stare at him. Nothing would please him more than to be able to wear the prosthesis while in public after waiting so long for it.

Any suggestions would be helpful.

Thank you and best to you.

Comments

• CivilMatt
    CivilMatt Member Posts: 4,722 Member
    Options
    welcome

KC27,