Surgery Done 4/29!!!

pinkstar
pinkstar Member Posts: 53

Hi,

Sorry for my little absence as work, school & preparing for surgery was hectic. My surgery was done laparoscopically. Under my left breast my incisions look like -__- with a - right under my breast. I was in the hospital for 2 days and didn't get the best treatment. They never worried about me having a bowel movement and I was on a clear liquid diet the entire time. I had a catheter for 1 day. The only pain I ever felt was at my incision sites and that was it. Other than that I questioned my BM but none of the nurses did a thing about it. I was sent home. About a day later I had a fever after having the absolute most horrific BM in my life & I've never been one who had issues with having a BM. Did I mention I am a nurse too? Pretty hard to be a nurse & patient at the same time. I went back to the ER on Thursday (5/2) for a fever of 101.6. I was feeling pretty terrible & thought I should go back to the hospital just in case. So I went back & my body fought the fever au natural & won! I also found out that my 5.6 cm tumor was indeed cancer. It was confined to my left kidney & my Dr took the kidney, adrenal gland & surrounding fat out. I always went with my instincts & researched all of my hospitals medical journals, to ensure that I was making the best decision for my future. When being told you have or had cancer, there are steps that one must take before getting to the next step. For the last 3 yrs (since knowing about the tumor), I lived my life as though it was benign cause I always felt it was (real dad had a kidney removed in the 60's). I am so grateful for the way I handled this process. I am almost 1 week post-op & got over the BM issues along with hemmorrhoid issues too. I do have metal staples that I expect to be removed at my post-op appt on 5/10. I haven't taken a pain med since last Thursday, other than Motrin to handle the feeling of my insides adjusting. I can not tell you that you won't hav