is chemo causing me double hearing on right ear?

jr2012
jr2012 Member Posts: 67
edited August 2012 in Colorectal Cancer #1
I started to hear double from this morning - anytime someone speaks louder than normal, I hear a different frequency sound. I am on xeloda and radiation for the last 3 weeks and wondering if this is a side effect ... I am an editor and work with sound, so this is definitely a new challenge ... tried to clean with a cotton swab but no effect. Anyone else had this?

Thanks for all your help
Trisha!

Comments

• John23
    John23 Member Posts: 2,122 Member
    Trisha -

One of the known side effects of Xeloda is "hearing problems",
    and noted in numerous websites dealing with the chemicals
    used for therapy.

EMC Medical Guide

Gemcitabine and capecitabine (GemCap) chemotherapy

Could Xeloda cause Sudden hearing loss?

Xeloda can also raise the side effects of other medications that
    one may be taking.

I would report any and all side effects or changes in health to
    the one prescribing the medication(s). The physician may be able
    to make needed corrections to avoid any increased discomfort.

Better health to you!

John
  • pepebcn
    pepebcn Member Posts: 6,331 Member
    John23 said:

Trisha -

One of the known side effects of Xeloda is "hearing problems",
    and noted in numerous websites dealing with the chemicals
    used for therapy.

EMC Medical Guide

Gemcitabine and capecitabine (GemCap) chemotherapy

Could Xeloda cause Sudden hearing loss?

Xeloda can also raise the side effects of other medications that
    one may be taking.

I would report any and all side effects or changes in health to
    the one prescribing the medication(s). The physician may be able
    to make needed corrections to avoid any increased discomfort.

Better health to you!

John

Yes ! I'm on Xeloda and listen my self every time I speak!
    Hope it helps.
  • jr2012
    pepebcn said:

Yes ! I'm on Xeloda and listen my self every time I speak!