working during chemo

Options
mupix
mupix Member Posts: 19
Hello everybody,
I am new here. Was diagnosed with breast cancer a month back. Had a lumpectomy. triple negative.
Starting chemo tomorrow. I am a dentist. I was wondering if I can work through the chemo atleast part time or it is better to stop working for sometime as it could be stressful. My treatment schedule is
4 cycles of cyclophosphamide and doxirubicin 2 weekd apart and then 12 cycles of taxol every week. that make it 5 months
followed by radiation, I am assuming for 2 months or so
any advice will help.
thanks

Comments

• wirak
    wirak Member Posts: 26
    Options
    I did the exact same regimen
    I did the exact same regimen as you, except my 4 cycles of A/C were 3 weeks apart instead of 2. This is how it affected me: I had my A/C on Fridays. I slept mostly Friday-Sunday and was pretty nauseaus on Monday and Tuesdays. I am a high school librarian. I almost always had to miss Mondays and the school was good to work with me to go in late (say 9:00 instead of 7:00) the next several days. Weeks two and three were much better. If you have to get the Neulasta shot, the bone pain coupled with the nausea made for a rough couple of days though. I worked all the way through my Taxol and never had to miss any days. For me, the effects were cumulative, and the last couple of weeks the bone and joint pain made it hard to stand/walk for long periods of time. Since I had a mastectomy, my onc didn't make me do radiation. I have been off the Taxol for almost three weeks now, and I am still waiting for it to wear off. Just FYI- my hair fell out almost 3 weeks to the date of my first A/C but started growing back as soon as I started my Taxol. I now have (very short) real hair! Best of luck to you. It is not fun, but it is doable. Let me know how you're doing.
    Hugs,
    Kari
  • ksf56
    ksf56 Member Posts: 202
    Options
    Sorry