HER2/neu Positive ~ Newbie

Options
fight2survive
fight2survive Member Posts: 15
edited June 2012 in Breast Cancer #1
I'm a newbie here . . . here is a short intro and a list of dates/events to date

I'm 42 (soon to be 43) and mom to 2 and stepmom to 2 - all under the age of 12. Very active within our community, PTA and Girl Scout Volunteer and I enjoy working out. I have been diagnosed with HER2/neu Positive (ER/PgR negative).

May 7th - went in for annual check-up and lumps were found
May 9th - mammogram and ultrasound - confirmed lumps
May 11th - Biopsy
May 15th - phone call to confirm Breast Cancer
May 16th - got the details - HER2/neu positive -- Grade 3
May 18th - Breast MRI - confirmed only in Right Breast
May 24th - Met with Oncologist - to go over treatment plan
May 25th - PET CT - confirmed only in right breast...did show something on my liver, but he said he wasn't concerned with it
May 27th - Brain MRI - confirmed I have one and it is all clear from any tumors
May 29th - MUGA test - for Herceptin treatment -- heart is strong at this time
May 30th - Started my TCH Cocktail

My treatments are 1x every 3 weeks. My oncologist said I had the record for starting treatment, which was done so we can continue to go on a trip that we've planned for the first week in July. I have done really well with this first treatment . . . so that is good. So far I've not had any hair loss, but I understand that it will come, possibly in the coming week. We made it a family affair for wig shopping. We've kept the kids all informed of what is going on and told them what to expect. However, with them all being so young, I don't think they'll get the full impact until they start to see physical differences in me.

Well, that's my current story.

Are there more current threads with others who are HER2+? I've searched and can only find ones that were started 10 years ago with posts over a year ago.