What type of Radiation machine?

Irishgypsie
Irishgypsie Member Posts: 333
edited May 2012 in Head and Neck Cancer #1
I'm sure this was brought up before; just thought it may be interesting to see what type of machine everyone is using or has used? Everyone always discusses the different chemos, but they just say how many rad treaments they will recieve. They never say what type of IMRT!
I guess since I'm a nurse I was really interested in the type of machine to get the latest technology!

I used a TomoTherapy machine!

Charles

Comments

• Laralyn
    Laralyn Member Posts: 532
    Tomotherapy isn't available at my clinic...
    ...even though my radiation oncologist actually speaks on their behalf!

I'm being treated on a Varian Clinac with IMRT packages added. My doctor did extra mapping to compensate for the lack of a tomotheraphy machine. I have something like 12+ stops to reshape and modulate the beam.
  • osmotar
    osmotar Member Posts: 1,006
    Machine
    I was treated with IMRT machine RapidARC, less time on table, for me 8 mins or less from set-up to finish, and a more precise area of radiation.

Linda
  • ratface
    ratface Member Posts: 1,337 Member
    osmotar said:

Machine
    I was treated with IMRT machine RapidARC, less time on table, for me 8 mins or less from set-up to finish, and a more precise area of radiation.

Linda

IMRT
    is old hat from the Looks of things. My machine made lots of stops and adjustments and lasted well over twenty minutes. Could be as high as thirty minute sessions with adjustments taking up most of that time. Good to see it changing.
  • tommyodavey
    tommyodavey Member Posts: 728 Member
    ratface said:

IMRT
    is old hat from the Looks of things. My machine made lots of stops and adjustments and lasted well over twenty minutes. Could be as high as thirty minute sessions with adjustments taking up most of that time. Good to see it changing.

Type of Machine