Folfox4

Mooya
Mooya Member Posts: 2
edited April 2012 in Colorectal Cancer #1
I am new to all of this. I was diagnosed with colon cancer in February(2012) and already had surgery. It was stage 2 with no involvement of the lymph nodes. Docs are suggesting 6 months of Chemo on the following regimen - Fluorouracil, Leucovorin, and Oxaliplatin - every two weeks.
Has anyone been on these drugs? Can you share how you felt? I am the director of a non profit agency. I am trying to see how reasonable it is to believe I will work full time and wonder about what people are calling the "chemo brain."
Any stories or guidance?

Comments

• PhillieG
    PhillieG Member Posts: 4,866 Member
    Hi Mooya
    Sorry to hear of your dx but it seems you found iy earlier than many do. Stage II is nothing to sneeze at but it beats Stage IV by...two stages!
    Most people who choose chemo do FOLFOX. It's been found to be the most effective. Everyone is different but I worked through my chemo. I would start it on Friday, then it involves having to continue the chemo for another two day via a pump that you wear and I was able to function fairly normally. Usually, a nurse would visit my home to disconnect the pump.

Chemo brain... It's something that not everyone experiences but it's not uncommon. It's not like one becomes unfunctionable but it can cause temporary memory loss and/or forgetfulness. I found I needed to write things down more to remind myself to do something. Once off it things were back to normal for me.

I don't see why you couldn't work but you may want to lighten your load if possible. Sometimes things like doing math in my head were challenging. Everyone is different.

The oxalipatin is probably the harshest of the mix. It causes sensitivity to cold that effects what you touch and what you eat. It often causes neuropathy (numbness) in your extremities which usually lessens or goes away. Some have mild to serious long term numbness. Again, it's up to the individual.