Tamoxifin and Diabetes

AnneKent
AnneKent Member Posts: 6
Hello, I am new to CSN. My reasons for being here are not for myself but for a friend with breast cancer and neighbor with stomach or esophagus cancer. My mother died of Ovarian Cancer in 2006. Very unusual because she had a hysterectomy and ovaries removed per her surgeon some 30 years before. When mom became sick dad thought it was a UTI but the hospital did tests which showed she did in fact have ovaries and they had cancer. Sadly she had taken HRT for decades. She passed away just 3 weeks after diagnosis.

My friend who is in her fourth year of Tamoxifin (sp?) was diagnosed with Diabetes about six months ago. She also suffers from what she calls 'Chemo Fog' and is not doing well with her eating plan. It seems too complicated for her or maybe she is in denial. She also is on two cholesterol meds as her level was 511!! And she's on thyroid meds plus the Metamorfin for diabetes. I visited her a couple days ago, she brought out her most recent lab results and her A1C is still at 9 down from 11 (should be 6) Her average glucose for the last three months was 234. Should be 120 or lower. She admitted eating a candy bar before I got there and every time I speak to her she is hungry. She has had two visits with a dietician. I know she has to treat the diabetes now especially with numbers that high but I wonder if Tamoxifin causes diabetes? Perhaps diabetes isn't a permanent situation once she stops?