Tamoxifen

madsters1
madsters1 Member Posts: 120
Anybody NOT do hormone therapy? You know...just say no. If so, how are you doing and what do you know about the stats on others who have declined it? I'm studying up on every stage of treatment. I start radiation next week then on to hormone therapy...maybe. I'm also wondering if the side effects from Tamoxifen are some things I'm already experiencing due to being in menopause.

Comments

• Rague
    Rague Member Posts: 3,653 Member
    Femara
    I never gave it a second thought - I'm ER+ and IBC. I will do everything I can to keep the Monster at bay. So far 2 1/2 yrs post DX I'm still riding NED which is fantastic considering the stats show that only 1 of 4 IBC to 5 yrs. I started Femara a week after starting rads and at that time was told I"d be on it for 5 yrs - last time I saw Dr T. I was told I'd be on it forever.

SE's for me have been non-existant. Well possibly made osteoporosis hit faster but with my family HX of it can't be sure..

We are all so different and all breast cancer is not the same in prognosis. So do your checking and go with or don't go with what you feel is 'right' for you.

Susan
  • Chickadee1955
    Chickadee1955 Member Posts: 356 Member
    Rague said:

Femara
    I never gave it a second thought - I'm ER+ and IBC. I will do everything I can to keep the Monster at bay. So far 2 1/2 yrs post DX I'm still riding NED which is fantastic considering the stats show that only 1 of 4 IBC to 5 yrs. I started Femara a week after starting rads and at that time was told I"d be on it for 5 yrs - last time I saw Dr T. I was told I'd be on it forever.

SE's for me have been non-existant. Well possibly made osteoporosis hit faster but with my family HX of it can't be sure..

We are all so different and all breast cancer is not the same in prognosis. So do your checking and go with or don't go with what you feel is 'right' for you.

Susan

Madsters,
    I did Femara for 9

Madsters,