Going back to work during radiation

jne66
jne66 Member Posts: 26
I have not been able to work for 6 months. I had a lumpectomy 11lymph nodes removed. Stage III with 1lymph node involved. I work In health care setting and could not work during chemo. I start radiation in the next week. I've used all my sick/vacation time and my savings are going fast. I am so tired of worrying about bills and money. I have 3 kids depending on me. Onc and onc rad said ok to return to work as tolerated. That I shouldn't have problems with WBC dropping during radiation. My informal support group says I'm rushing things. Any thoughts? I mow can officially sign up for food stamps!

Comments

• disneyfan2008
    disneyfan2008 Member Posts: 6,583 Member
    I did not have chemo...I had
    I did not have chemo...I had JUST surgery and radiation. I worked full time and did treatments on my lunch with NO side effects...I did not tire, burn, chap etc..so I can't give any advice...thinking of you...

have you considered FMLA (I know no pay if you use that but holds your job)

Denise..
  • laughs_a_lot
    laughs_a_lot Member Posts: 1,368 Member
    I worked
    I had stage 2 and worked 9 days out of 2 weeks. I had intermittent FMLA and used about a day every 2 weeks to a month. I work third shift so the duty is light. I have a couple of hours of down time. Perhaps you can do part time or a partial shift to start back with. You will be tired durring rads. I was always a bit tired anyway because I worked 3rd shift. I learned to not be quite so driven at home durring rads.
  • grams2jc
    grams2jc Member Posts: 756
    I think if they said you can you should
    Not having to worry as much about $$$$ will make you feel better...if it is too much, regroup.

I gained energy during rads...worked 8 hours and drove round trip 2 hours to rads. My counts were fine during rads but I did develop skin problems slowing the process.

Good luck, let us know how it goes!

Jennifer
  • DianeBC