Scheduled First Chemo Appt. Today

I just scheduled my first chemo appointment today for January 5. I am scared to death. I'll be taking Taxotere and Cytoxan. Can anyone share their experience with this cocktail? I understand it is different for everyone, but I have heard that this is one of the more tolerable combos.

Also, any tips on preparing for that dreaded day?

Thanks,
Kathy

Comments

• cupcake7
    cupcake7 Member Posts: 17
    your first chemo
    Hi girly girl: Just joined and your my first contact. I am a veteran chemo taker and my first advice is to take a deep breath and relax. Grab a cup of coco or coffee cause you and I are going to become good friends. I remember my first and I was scared to death too. I thought I would start throwing up in the chair...I didn't know....It is a breeze it really is...day 3 now is a different story but you will be home and can deal with it. I will walk you through if you want. First day you will be at wonder...maybe take someone with you to share the experience. Later take a portable DVD player so you can watch movies or a good book if you like to read. Good time to catch up on a letter if you still write.
  • MNGirlyGirl
    MNGirlyGirl Member Posts: 14
    cupcake7 said:

your first chemo
    Hi girly girl: Just joined and your my first contact. I am a veteran chemo taker and my first advice is to take a deep breath and relax. Grab a cup of coco or coffee cause you and I are going to become good friends. I remember my first and I was scared to death too. I thought I would start throwing up in the chair...I didn't know....It is a breeze it really is...day 3 now is a different story but you will be home and can deal with it. I will walk you through if you want. First day you will be at wonder...maybe take someone with you to share the experience. Later take a portable DVD player so you can watch movies or a good book if you like to read. Good time to catch up on a letter if you still write.

Thank you so much Cupcake.