"why aren't you over her yet, why do you still get upset? its been 3 months"....HELP

membermeg
membermeg Member Posts: 25
edited March 2014 in Surviving Caregivers #1
I am new to this website and hope to gain friends and strength.

The subject of this discussion is one that I have been experiencing in my workplace. I am going to write my story when I get a chance, but right now I need to vent. People who have not been through what we have been through have no idea or concept of the word "grief"

"Grief" to us a real emotion, an emotion that is with us at every second of every day. I work in the health field and am 27 years old. I lost my mom 3 months ago and am grieving every day. It is like a rollar coaster and when people tell me they are "sick of the drama" referring to me having to cry or take a walk bc I miss my mother, I get very angry. When you lose someone sooo close to you, it takes years to work through.

My co-workers get upset if I get "an extra" break bc I am crying and need to take a walk and call my dad. They don't think it is fair. ARE YOU KIDDING ME? I get attitude if I am not my happy, bubbly self. I get attitudes if I need to step out bc it HIT me like a ton of bricks. They don't understand and they dont care. I am just so sick of it.......HELP

Comments

• grandmafay
    grandmafay Member Posts: 1,633 Member
    Grief Has No Time Limit
    People grieve in different ways. It's sad that people in the health field don't know that. Your co-workers are being very insensitive. Their lives go on as before. You are having to adjust to a new normal. You are grieving a huge loss in your life. That doesn't go away. Fairness has nothing to do with it. Losing your mother wasn't fair. Go ahead and vent! If you are in the health field, ask for help dealing with your grief. Maybe there is a grief group you can join. Take care and come here as often as you need to vent. Many of us feel the pain of grief. Fay
  • geotina
    geotina Member Posts: 2,111 Member