I'm a Newbie! I need treatment recovery advice

Sarah B
Sarah B Member Posts: 5
Hi Everyone. I love the energy I have found reading these posts on and off for the past three months. My husband was diagnosed with EC January 3 -- what a great way to start the year! After extensive research and prayer we decided to go to MD Anderson for his treatment. After being told by other doctors that we caught it early, we discovered at MDA after the endoscopy that he was a T4N1. Not the news we were looking for, but we still forged ahead. Rather that going with traditional IMRT, we opted for Proton Beam Therapy. He just finished his 5 week round of chemo (Taxotere and Xeloda) and proton radiation therapy.

I am looking for help with his recovery period until surgery scheduled for 5/19. He has significant pain at the tumor site and doesn't like using the pain meds prescribed. He can swallow liquids and eat some soft foods, but he is having the mucous regurge and general lack of appetite. He is dropping weight faster now than when he was in treatment. We were told it would take two weeks for him to feel "normal" again, but this is the 10th day and he is no better that when we left Houston to return home. Can any of you tell me how long it will take to heal/recover from the radiation and will he be able to eat somewhat normally prior to surgery? He is eating/drinking smoothies, sashimi, egg salad and soup these days. He's tired of tapioca and cottage cheese. Thank you!

Comments

• BMGky
    BMGky Member Posts: 621
    Husband's treatment regimen different