small cell lung cancer

nikjenks09
nikjenks09 Member Posts: 1
I recently viewed a blog written by a person named Richard in 2002, which said he had small cell lung cancer in which was removed on 2000. I was wondering if this man was still surviving this cancer. my mother has small cell, they did a recession of the upper lobe march 3rd,2011. I guess i just need to know, is small cell lung cancer curable. i just feel like the Dr's are giving her false hope. another spot has now been found on her adrenal gland. they want to do chemo.I HEARD THAT CHEMO KILLS YOUR GOOD CELLS AS WELL AS THE BAD ONES. IS THIS TRUE?My mom gets nausea very easily, and is in poor health besides the cancer. she had heart stints in December, and still has some blockage, she has stomach ulcers, she had her gallbladder removed in January. I'm new to this network, any information will be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• linz1982
    linz1982 Member Posts: 18
    Small cell is not curable.
    Small cell is not curable. Small cell lung cancer is a more aggressive cancer. You can treat it where it is but it will come back somewhere else. If you are wanting some information, www.cancer.org is a excellent website to go to. I go there to look things up that my fathers oncologist has talked about.
  • medi_2
    medi_2 Member Posts: 505 Member
    linz1982 said:

Small cell is not curable.
    Small cell is not curable. Small cell lung cancer is a more aggressive cancer. You can treat it where it is but it will come back somewhere else. If you are wanting some information, www.cancer.org is a excellent website to go to. I go there to look things up that my fathers oncologist has talked about.

uh-uh